EP 059 – Video Retrospective: The Video Album Volume I

Billy Joel may not be the first artist that comes to mind when you think of MTV. But, he was making music videos before the landmark cable channel got its start in 1981. 

A close look at those videos reveals the progression of the medium as it became more popular, more stylized, and more important as the decade went on. 

A handful of those videos were released on home video in 1986 as Billy Joel: The Video Album Volume 1 and 2.

The first volume features 10 videos covering songs from 1973’s Piano Man through The Bridge album in 1986. 

And, they run the gamut from pre-MTV promotional videos and bare-bones performances of hit songs, to surreal and conceptual visual re-imaginings of Billy’s songs. 

There’s a lot to unpack as different directors put their stamp on various eras of Billy’s music. We get behind-the-scenes glimpses of the musicians and close readings of their performances. And, different angles on classic songs. 

Join us, as we dig deep into Billy Joel: The Video Album Volume I.

Watch the music videos featured on The Video Album Volume I.

Music Videos:

  • Piano Man
  • All For Leyna
  • Tell Her About It
  • Honesty
  • Sometimes a Fantasy
  • The Night Is Still Young
  • Pressure
  • Stiletto / My Life
  • Keeping The Faith
  • A Matter of Trust


Email us: glasshousespodcast@gmail.com

Glass Houses – A Billy Joel Podcast on the web / social media:

Support the podcast: